"Working on the Frontline" and "For us"

Two singles from “Song Club” charity album released in support of the RCN Foundation COVID-19 Support Fund

Remotely co-written by Judie Tzuke and Gregor Philp, ‘For Us’ is the second single released from ‘Song Club’ – the album curated by Squeeze’s Chris Difford an dinspired by frontline nurses. The single is available digitally HERE, with all proceeds going to the RCN Foundation Covid-19 Support Fund.

Inspired by the photography of NHS frontline nurse Hannah Grace Deller, Judie Tzuke wrote ‘For Us’ as a thank you note to Hannah and her colleagues for their dedication throughout this difficult period. “I wanted to say thank you for how brave and selfless a lot of them are. The song was inspired by Hannah’s photos of nurses; happy, tired, sad, obviously working past the point of exhaustion, hence the first line of the lyric ‘blue paper faces, precious air, times you wish you were not there.’”

In addition to being a paediatric matron Hannah is a talented photographer who, throughout the Covid-19 pandemic, has been documenting her, and her colleagues’ experiences. When Hannah’s photographic work was featured on the Channel 4 programme ‘Grayson’s Art Club’, it grabbed the attention of the Squeeze co-founder and Grammy nominated lyricist Chris Difford.

"I first saw Hannah’s photography on Grayson Perry’s Channel Four program ‘Art Club’. Inspired by her work I asked all of my co-writing chums to use her photographs as inspiration for songwriting. Together we have created a body of work to raise funds for the frontline workers, it has been so inspiring to hear the results” says Difford.

The album includes songs written by world-class, award-winning songwriters – including Nik Kershaw, Graham Gouldman, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Mark Nevin, Julia Fordham, Robert Vincent, Judie Tzuke, Kimmie Rhodes, Judith Owen and Kathryn Williams - who have used their time in lockdown to document a poignant moment in time.

Speaking about the album, Hannah Grace Deller, matron paediatrics, Imperial College NHS Trust says “I hope that the voices of all the unsung heroes, their efforts and sacrifices are heard in this music. For me this record is a thank you to all my colleagues on the frontline, from the porters & domestics, to the doctors and nurses, I’ll never forget how we all stood side-by-side on the frontline fighting this illness together.”

Song Club Cover

Deepa Korea, RCN Foundation Director, RCN Foundation “We are incredibly grateful to Chris, Hannah and everyone involved in the Song Club album project – donations to the RCN Foundation COVID-19 Support Fund will make a huge difference to the many frontline nurses, midwives and health care support workers who are continuing to make an invaluable contribution at the very forefront of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

The album ‘Song Club’ will be released on October 23rd 2020 from https://slinky.to/SongClub

Song Club Tracklisting

1 Working On The Frontline - Jessie & The Leonards (featuring Hannah Grace Deller)
2 For Us - Judie Tzuke
3 Find a Way - Sara Douga & Gregor Philp
4 Sunday - Julia Fordham
5 Code Sunshine - Kimmie Rhodes
6 Bittersweet - Komal
7 Sick of the Sight of You - Bill Lloyd (featuring Beth Nielsen Chapman)
8 We Can Breathe - Nick Heyward
9 Invisible Smile - Beth Nielsen Chapman
10 I See You - Graham Gouldman
11 It Has To Be Done - Judith Owen
12 If It Wasn't For You - William Rees
13 These Times.…Again - Robert Vincent
14 Hope We All Deserve - Roisin Donald & Mairéad Carlin
15 Hannah Takes Pictures - Kathryn Williams
16 Six Degrees - Hannah Grace Deller
17 Save Us All - Jeff Goldford and Jeff Cohen
18 Rehashtag the World - Ruby Dew
19 Still With You - Mairéad Carlin & Ronan Scolard
20 All Ashore - Charlie Wood

The first single ‘Working On The Frontline’ is available on all streaming platforms and on You Tube 

To see more of Hannah’s work which inspired the album visit https://www.instagram.com/hannahgracedeller_photography/ 

For more details visit https://www.instagram.com/chrisdifford/